Skip to content

Navigating the Be-Minefield

February 10, 2009

February 14th? It’s not my favorite holiday to come from the boardroom at Hallmark. I know – shocker, right?

Last year was the worst yet for circumstances more personal than I care to reveal. This year I’m doing it differently. Here’s how:

  • http://xkcd.com/223/I’m skipping town, if for no other reason than to spare Winnie and her beau from me tagging along to dinner, dragging my sad sack of sad close behind. A recently single girl friend and I will be in Manhattan. I haven’t been back for almost 4 years.
  • I will not be getting in touch with the person with whom I spent the five V-days with back when I lived in New York. Sparing his current gf a major case of agita is my little gift to her. (It’s cheaper and less fattening than chocolates.)
  • I am gonna be proactive and send myself a Valentine. I’m thinking it’ll be in the form of the letter I like to think I would have received from an ex if he weren’t a self-involved noodle-head desperately in need of a tact transfusion. (Sorry folks – that one will self-destruct 15 seconds after Winnie reads it.)

The above may not have much to do with the canonization of St. Valentine, but it should keep me out of trouble.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

