Skip to content

Disco Dud

April 4, 2008

Typically, we’ll post a full email and then our fictional response, but this one was worth a play-by-play.

Hello, my name is Nick and I wanted to introduce myself to you. You kept your profile very concise and modest. I like it because it increases the mystery and the incentive to discover more.

Flattery is good, Nick, very good.

Like many on this site, I am blessed to have a great family, great friends, and a career I enjoy. I’m sure you do as well. Are you asleep yet? Sometimes I re-read what I wrote and I’m already bored to death… haha.

Nope. I am very much awake and wondering why you would send me an email that bored you.

OK. Let’s have a little fun then. If you are so inclined, name for me the last movie you really enjoyed and why you liked it so much.

Heh. I usually save the movie question for an awkward pause in the conversation… oh, right… here we are….

I’ll go first: I just rented “Garden State”. First, I like Natalie Portman quite a bit so that alone was an incentive to watch it. Some of the movie was slow and plodding, but it got good at the end, when they went to the quarry. The best part was the airport scene and the raw emotion that they were feeling. Her crying nearly broke my heart.

So, you like your emotion raw, eh? That’s too bad. I like it well done. (Natalie Portman, I apologize. I used you for a bad joke.)

Good luck in the cyber-disco. I hope you find what you’re looking for.

There’s a disco on the web?!!!

Shit. I need to get out less.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

